
STATE OF UTAH 
GOVERNOR’S OFFICE OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT (GOED) 

PETE SUAZO UTAH ATHLETIC COMMISSION (PSUAC)  
  

CONTEST/EVENT DATE REQUEST  
  

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION  
  
General Statement:  The PSUAC desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for 
licensure.  To maximize its efficiency and level of service, the PSUAC will process complete 
applications only.  A complete application includes all applicable supporting documents and fees.  
The fees are for processing your application and will not be refunded.  Failure to complete the application 
and supply necessary information may result in denial of licensure.  Please read all instructions carefully.  
  
Address of Record:  The address listed on the application will be your address of record.  All 
correspondence from the PSUAC will be sent to that address.  It is your responsibility to directly notify 
the PSUAC of any change in address.  Also, please note, the address of record is public information, 
available upon request and via the Internet.  You may choose to use a business address or a P.O. Box for 
your address of record rather than your home address.  
  
Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record pursuant to Title 
63, Chapter 2, Utah Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA).  It is used as an 
individual identifier for our licensing database and for purposes of child support enforcement pursuant to 
Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Annotated, 
which implements the requirements of 42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13).  An application that does not include a 
social security number is incomplete and cannot be processed.  
  
Supporting Documents and Fees:  
  
1. Post a surety/performance bond with the PSUAC in an amount equal to the total purses of all contests 

promoted by the promoter in a single promotion in addition to all anticipated commission and 
officials fees, ringside physician and ambulance and EMTs; but not less than $10,000.  

 
2. Submit a $100 non-refundable Contest license application fee.   
 
3. Submit Contest information, concerning where the contest is to be held.  The names of the contestants 

participating in the Main Event and in the additional contests should be provided no later than 7 days 
before the event.  

 
4. Submit a current “Certificate of Insurance” demonstrating medical and Accidental Death insurance 

coverage for each contestant, to provide medical coverage for any injuries sustained during a contest, 
no later than the contest weigh-in.  

 
5. Submit a copy of a signed contract between the promoter of the contest and each contestant, no later 

than the contest weigh-in.  



APPLICATION TO HOLD AN UNARMED COMBAT 
CONTEST OR PROMOTION  

  
 
PROMOTER:  
  
Name of Promoter:  _______________________________________________________________  
  
Contact Person:  _________________________________________________________________  
  
Do you have a current Utah Contest Promoter’s License?  Yes __________ No _____________  
  
If Yes, License Number/Expiration Date:  _____________________________________________  
  
If you do not have a current Utah Contest Promoter’s License, complete and submit an application for a Utah 
Contest Promoter’s License with the Contest application.  The PSUAC will issue a permit to hold a contest 
only to promoter’s licensed by the State of Utah.  
  
PUBLIC MAILING ADDRESS:  
  
Street:  _____________________________________________________________________________  
  
City:  _______________________ State:  ________ Zip:  __________ County:  __________________  
  
Telephone Number:  _________________________________________________________________  
 
Email:  ____________________________________________________________________________  
 
Web Site ___________________________________________________________________________ 
  
CONTEST INFORMATION:  
  
Date and Start Time of Contest:  _____________________________________________________________  
 
Contest Venue/Address: _______________________________________________________________  
 
City of Contest:  _____________________________________________________________________  
 
Contest Disciplines (Boxing, MMA, Muay Thai, etc):  _______________________________________ 
  
  

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION – FOR PSUAC USE ONLY  
  
Date Permit Approved:  _______________________________________________________________  
  
Approved By:  ______________________________________________________________________  
  
Date Permit Denied:  _________________________________________________________________  

 
Denied By:  _________________________________________________________________________  
 
Reason for Denial/Other Comments:  _____________________________________________________   



AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE AUTHORIZATION  
  
 
I am the applicant described and identified in this application for licensure, certification, or registration in 
the State of Utah.  
  
I am qualified in all respects for the license, certificate, or registration for which I am applying in this 
application.  
  
To the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting 
documentation is free of fraud, misrepresentation, or omission of material fact.  
  
To the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting 
documentation is truthful, correct, and complete; and, discloses all material facts regarding the applicant 
and associated individuals necessary to properly evaluate the applicant’s qualifications for licensure.  
  
I will ensure that any information subsequently submitted to the PSUAC in conjunction with this 
application or its supporting documentation meets the same standard as set forth above.  
  
I understand that it is unlawful and punishable as a class A misdemeanor to apply for or obtain a license 
or to otherwise deal with the PSUAC or a licensing board through the use of fraud, forgery, or intentional 
deception, misrepresentation, misstatement, or omission.  
  
I understand that this application will be classified as a public record and will be available for inspection 
by the public, except with regard to the release of information which is classified as controlled, private, or 
protected under the Government Records Access and Management Act or restricted by other law.  
  
I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth 
directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Utah Sports Authority, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for 
the PSUAC to properly evaluate my qualifications for licensure, certification, or registration by the State 
of Utah.  
  
Signature of Promoter:  ____________________________________________________  
  
Date of Signature:  ________________________________________________________  
  
Printed Name of Promoter:  ________________________________________________  
  

  
  
  
  
  
  



 Laws and Rules:  You are required to understand all Utah laws and rules pertaining to unarmed combat.  
 

The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at: 
 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r359/r359-001.htm 
http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE63C/63C11.htm 

 
You may also purchase the laws and rules for a fee from Experior, 5486 South 1900 West, Suite C, 
Taylorsville, Utah 84118, (801) 355-5009.  

  
 - Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act (UCA, Title 63, Chapter 11)  
 - Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rules  (R359) 

 
 

Make Licensure Fees Payable to:  
  

Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission   
  

  
Mail Completed Application To:  
  

By U.S. Mail  
 

Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission (PSUAC) 
Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED) 

P.O. Box 146950 
60 East South Temple, 3rd Floor 
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6950 

 
  
  
  

Telephone Number:    (801) 538-8876 
  
Fax Number:                (801) 538-8888 
  

  
  
  
  
  
  

 


