Information about COVID-19 grants, loans and programs

The Board of Tourism Development consists of 13 members who represent various geographical areas and segments of the tourism industry. Members are appointed by the governor to advise the Utah Office of Tourism in planning, policies and strategies on trends and opportunities for tourism development that may exist in various areas of the state.

The board has authority to approve a tourism program consisting of out-of-state advertising, marketing and branding, taking into account the long-term strategic plan, economic trends and opportunities for tourism development on a statewide basis.


Lance Syrett, Board Chair, Owner, Best Western Ruby’s Inn
Nathan Rafferty, Board Vice Chair, President & CEO Ski Utah
Kym Buttschardt, Owner, Roosters Brewing Company
Dirk Clayson – Agent, ERA Utah Properties
Dean Cox – Washington County Commissioner
Elaine Gizler, Executive Director, Moab Area Travel Council
Brian Merrill, Owner, Moab River Expeditions
Greg Miller, Larry H. Miller Group of Companies
Glen Overton, Managing Partner, Hotel Park City
Jim Powell – VP, Marketing – Park City Chamber of Commerce/Convention & Visitors Bureau
Mike Taylor, Owner, Budget Car & Truck Rental of Utah
Sara Toliver, Executive Director, Visit Ogden
Shayne Wittwer, Owner, Wittwer Hospitality