2016 STEM Innovation Awards Recipients Announced

Pete CodellaNews

The STEM Action Center will hold their second STEM Innovation Awards ceremony in partnership with the Utah Technology Council at their annual Utah Innovation Awards luncheon on Wednesday, May 11.

The STEM Innovation Awards are an opportunity to recognize five Utah residents that are excelling in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). Nominations were open to the general public from February to April of this year. The STEM Action Center team and the STEM Action Center Board, through a rigorous process, chose this year’s honorees in the following categories:

• Student: Emily Naylor, Senior at Mountain Heights Academy
• Teacher: Katie Rogers, 4th Grade STEM Teacher at Thunder Ridge Elementary
• Principal: Matthew Lowe, Title I School Site Coordinator at Hurricane Elementary School
• Mentor: Steven Shumway, Professional Development Provider for K-12 STEM Education at Brigham Young University
• Counselor: Zekeriya Temircan, Academic Dean at Beehive Science and Technology Academy

Dr. Tamara Goetz, executive director of the Utah STEM Action Center, along with Richard Nelson, president and CEO of Utah Technology Council will present the awards.

“The STEM Action Center’s STEM Innovation awards are unique,” Dr. Goetz said. “With the variety of categories, we highlight the fact that it takes ‘a village’ to achieve success in STEM education. These awards recognize the outstanding commitment and contributions from all sides but put a special spotlight on the amazing achievements of our friends and colleagues.”

As part of the awards the teacher, counselor, principal and mentor will receive $2,000 to grow STEM in Utah, while the student will receive an iPad mini.