Launch of the Utah Main Street Program

Pete CodellaCenter for Rural Development, News

Go Utah is pleased to announce the launch of its Utah Main Street Program. The nationally recognized program is part of Main Street America, an initiative aiming to revitalize communities’ economy, appearance, and image of their downtown commercial districts. Utah is the newest coordinating member of the national program. 

The Main Street America program provides a framework for the community-driven revitalization of older and historic commercial districts to build vibrant neighborhoods and thriving economies.

“We’re thrilled to be a part of this program that provides a framework and resources to support a community’s unique heritage,” said Nan Anderson, director of the Utah Main Street program and rural outreach manager. “This program honors what makes a community unique and focuses on what makes it a great place to live and visit.”

Two communities, Brigham City and Price, have realized the benefits of participating in a coordinated Main Street effort; both participated in the Main Street Pilot Program. Three facade grants were awarded — one in Price and two in Brigham City. Additional support for the pilot communities was provided to support revitalization priorities and include planning, city beautification, business support grants, and more.

According to a community’s interest and ability to develop its Main Street, communities are classified on a tiered framework. Communities are eligible for either Engaged – Tier 1, or Vibrant – Tier 2. The communities participating in the new program at Tier 1 include Granary District (Salt Lake City), Gunnison, Heber City, Kaysville, Magna, Midtown (Salt Lake City), Parowan, Richfield, and Salina. Tier 2 communities include Brigham City, Cedar City, Helper, Mt. Pleasant, Ogden, Price, and Tooele City.

The Utah Main Street Program Advisory Committee is responsible for reviewing applications and evaluating community designations. Members of the Advisory Committee are Jay Aguilar (Utah Department of Transportation), Nan Anderson (Go Utah), Geri Gamber (Southeastern Utah Association of Local Governments), Tracy Hansford (Utah Department of Cultural & Community Engagement), Keith Heaton (Workforce Services Housing and Community Development Division), and Bianca Lyon (Utah Office of Tourism). 

Additional committee members include Kelsey Maas (Preservation Utah), Maria Twitchell (Cedar City-Brian Head Tourism Bureau), Chris Anderson (Partner at Durham, Jones & Pinegar), Paul Larsen (Brigham City), and Mayor Lenise Peterman (Helper).