News Release
For Immediate Release
November 12, 2015

Ricardo Flores, Utah Film Commission

New Independent Film Approved for Utah Film Incentives
Indie feature to spend $3.5 million in the state

SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah Film Commission announced today that the independent feature Small Town Crime was approved for state film incentives by the Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED) board.

Small Town Crime, co-directed by brothers Eshom and Ian Nelms, is slated to start production this January with plans to spend $3.5 million in the state and hire 100 local cast and crew.

“This production is another example of a mid-size independent film taking advantage of Utah’s great resources,” said Virginia Pearce, director of the Utah Film Commission. “Indie filmmakers appreciate how quick they can get up and running here, due to our experienced crews, support services and accessible locations.”

Returning to Utah is the production team of John Kelly and Brad Johnson, who last year brought another independent feature to the state, Waffle Street which starred Danny Glover. Kelly has been a part of many filmed in Utah projects including, 127 Hours, Gentlemen Broncos and The World’s Fastest Indian.

Small Town Crime will begin production this coming January and will be completely filmed in Utah in the Salt Lake City area.


About the Utah Film Commission
As a part of the Governor’s Office of Economic Development, the Utah Film Commission markets the entire state as a destination for film, television and commercial production by promoting the use of professional local crew & talent, support services, Utah locations and the Motion Picture Incentive Program. The office also serves as liaison to the film industry, facilitating production needs across the state.

Over 900 films have been produced in Utah including 127 Hours, Butch Cassidy & The Sundance Kid, Forrest Gump, Lone Ranger, High School Musical and the television series Touched by an Angel.

The Utah Film Commission partners with seven regional offices – Kane County, Utah Valley, Washington County, Ogden, Park City, Heber Valley and Moab.

For more information, visit