News Release
For Immediate Release

Aimee Edwards
GOED Communications Director

Three New GOED Board Members Confirmed

SALT LAKE CITY (May 22, 2017)— The Utah Senate confirmed the appointment of three new members to the Governor’s Office of Economic Development Board of Directors. They will be officially sworn in at the next board meeting on June 8.

The new appointees are Carine Clark, a member of the Silicon Slopes Executive Board; Steve Neeleman, general surgeon and founder and vice chair of HealthEquity; and Ted Wilson, former UCAIR executive director and former mayor of Salt Lake City.

“The newly appointed board members are well respected in their industries and the community,” said Val Hale, executive director of GOED. “Their leadership, experience and community involvement in diverse areas of our state will serve us well.”

New board members replace Josh Romney, Jake Boyer and Sam Granato and will begin a four-year term ending in 2021. In addition to the new appointments, board members Margo Jacobs, Peter Mouskondis and Chairman Mel Lavitt were reappointed for another term.

The GOED Board of Directors serves as an advisory board, providing recommendations to the executive director regarding GOED’s incentives and grant programs, in addition to initiatives in marketing, workforce development and other relevant economic development matters.

Read below for full biographies.


About the Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED)
The Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED) charter is based on Gov. Gary R. Herbert’s commitment to statewide economic development. The state’s economic vision is that Utah will lead the nation as the best performing economy and be recognized as a premier global business environment and tourist destination. GOED provides extensive resources and support for business creation, growth and recruitment statewide, as well as programs to increase tourism and film production for the benefit of Utah residents. All administered programs are based upon strategic industry clusters to develop a diverse, sustainable economy. GOED accomplishes its mission through unprecedented partnerships. For more information please contact: Aimee Edwards, (801) 538-8811 or


Carine Clark serves on the Executive Board of Silicon Slopes. She has decades of experience building successful software companies and most recently was CEO of MaritCX, Allegiance Software and CMO of Symantec. Carine has been recognized with numerous awards, including being inducted into the Utah Technology Council Hall of Fame, named 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year Utah Region and 2015 CEO of the Year by Utah Business magazine. She was ranked by ExecRank as no. 47 of all CMO’s worldwide in 2012. Clark received her bachelor’s degree in organizational communications as well as a master’s degree in business administration.

In 2012 Carine was diagnosed with a rare form of ovarian cancer. She did 18 months of treatment and is nearly 5 years clear from her toughest chemo. She works as an advocate for cancer research, works with newly diagnosed patients and mentors many young people in her spare time. This summer she will be riding on the Hunstman Cancer’s Survivor team at the Little Red Bike race. She’s hopelessly devoted to the men in her life: her husband of 34 years and her two amazing sons. She’ll tell you she’s the most blessed human on the planet.


Dr. Stephen Neeleman is the Founder and Vice Chairman of HealthEquity. Steve founded HealthEquity in 2002, with the vision to repair the fractured relationship between patients and their physicians and to help more people obtain quality health insurance by re-introducing consumerism to health care. Steve is the co-author of The Complete HSA Guidebook—How to Make Health Savings Accounts Work for You, in its 5th Edition.

In addition to his duties as Founder and Vice Chairman of HealthEquity, Steve is currently a practicing general and trauma surgeon for Intermountain Healthcare at American Fork Hospital and Utah Valley Regional Medical Center. As a board-certified physician, Steve brings his passion and firsthand knowledge from the practice of medicine to his leadership role at HealthEquity.

Steve was appointed by Utah’s Governor, Gary Herbert, to serve as a board member of HIP Utah, Utah’s high-risk insurance pool. He also serves on the Council for Affordable Health Insurance HSA Working Group, and on America’s Health Insurance Plans’ HSA Leadership Council.

Prior to his medical training, Steve worked as the General Airport Manager for Morris Air (later acquired by Southwest Airlines), based in Salt Lake City, Utah. Steve helped combine efficiency, technology, and excellent customer service to succeed in a rocky industry. This innovative business model allowed Morris Air to rise above financially struggling competitors. Steve’s goal is to use this model to help save another struggling industry—health care.

Steve completed his undergraduate degree and played football at Utah State University. He attended medical school at the University of Utah and completed his surgical training at the University of Arizona. Steve also served as an assistant professor of surgery at the University of Arizona.

Ted Wilson was born in Salt Lake City, graduating from South High School and from the University of Utah with a B.S. degree in political science. He received a master’s degree in education from the University of Washington. In 1983, he received an honorary Doctorate of Laws from Westminster College. From 1957 to 1963, he served in the Utah Army National Guard and was activated to full time status during the Berlin Crisis. He was an instructor at the Leysin American School, Leysin, Switzerland for one year. He also taught economics at Skyline High School for seven years. During the summer months of 1966 to 1969 he was a mountaineering park ranger in Grand Teton National Park.

He was appointed Chief of Staff to U.S. Congressman Wayne Owens (D-UT) in March 1973. In April 1975 he was appointed to direct the Department of Social Services in Salt Lake County. In November 1975 he was elected as Mayor of Salt Lake City. He served as mayor until July 1, 1985, when he became the director of the Hinckley Institute of Politics at the University of Utah. Retiring from the Hinckley Institute in September 2003, Wilson retains status as Professor Emeritus of political science. He ran for the U.S. Senate in 1982. In 1988, he was the Democratic candidate for governor of Utah. In 1991, Wilson was selected by Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy Institute of Politics as an institute fellow during the fall semester.

Recent employment includes serving as director of the Utah Rivers Council from 2008 to 2010, as senior environmental advisor to Gov. Gary Herbert from 2010 to 2011, and as government affairs director of the Talisker Co. from 2011 to 2013. In September, 2013, Wilson was appointed as director of the Utah Clean Air Partnership (UCAIR.)

Wilson is married to former Salt Lake Tribune columnist Holly Mullen. From his previous marriage to Kathryn Carling, Wilson has five children. He is stepfather to Mullen’s two children.