Utah Rolls Out Red Carpet for Leaders in Science and Technology

Pete CodellaNews

Much as Sundance recognizes innovators in film, Utah recognizes innovators of science and technology. Governor Gary R. Herbert along with the State Science Advisor and the State Advisory Council on Science and Technology announced today the 2012 winners of the Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology.

“Utah was built on a heritage of innovation. We have the pleasure of recognizing the leaders who strengthen this foundation.” said Governor Gary Herbert. “The tireless efforts of these innovative individuals continue to accelerate Utah’s economy.”

The Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology are awarded to residents and companies who have provided distinguished service and/or made significant contributions toward advancing scientific knowledge, education and industry in Utah and the nation.

The award ceremony will be held on Thursday January 17, 2013, from 5:00 pm to 8:30 pm at the Discovery Gateway, children’s museum.

Medals are awarded in fields of academia, science education, industry and government. This year’s recipients are:


  • Dr. Thure Cerling, Professor of Geology and Geophysics at the University of Utah. Dr. Cerling has greatly advanced geological, hydrological, and nuclear waste science in Utah
  • Dr. David Kieda, University of Utah Professor and Department Chair of Physics. Dr. Kieda pioneered techniques for observing high-energy cosmic rays
  • Dr. Geraldine Mineau, Investigator and Research Professor in the department of Oncological Sciences at the University of Utah and the Huntsman Cancer Institute. Dr. Mineau developed a one of a kind genetic research tool for human disease

Science Education category:

  • Dr. Adam Johnston, Professor of Physics at Weber State University. Dr. Johnston is the founder of “Science Education at the Crossroads”
  • Amy Pace, Chair of the Department of Science of the Open High School of Utah. Amy is the science curriculum developer for the Open High School of Utah

Industry category:

  • Dr. Theodore Stanley, managing director of Upstart and Founder of Anesta and ZARS. The “Stanley Research Foundation” has donated more than five million dollars to the University of Utah and other universities
  • Ceramatec is a pioneer in research and development in oxygen and hydrogen generation systems

Government category:

  • Ted McAleer, Executive Director of Utah Science Technology and Research initiative (USTAR). In six years Ted has grown USTAR from an idea to a fully functioning innovation driver for Utah’s economy
  • Nicole Toomey Davis, CEO of Enclavix LLC and former Director of the Centers of Excellence Program / Technology Commercialization and Innovation Program. Nicole was instrumental in the enhancement of the Centers of Excellence Program, and the development of the Utah Fund of Funds

Lifetime achievement:

  • Scott Anderson, President and CEO of Zions Bank. Scott has worked diligently and tirelessly to create more high paying jobs in Utah. He also led the vision and charge to create the Utah Science Technology and Research initiative
  • The Governor’s Medal award program was initiated in 1987 and nominations are reviewed by the State’s Science Advisory Council before formally presenting winners to the Governor