Following changes passed during the July 2020 5th Utah Legislature special session, which produced S.B. 5005, GOED’s ComRent program has undergone revisions. A summary of ComRent 2.0 is included on this webpage. If you previously applied, your application will be automatically reconsidered following the updated program guidelines. For new applicants, the updated qualifications and documentation requirements are listed below.
The COVID-19 Commercial Rental Assistance Program was created on April 30, 2020, when Gov. Herbert signed S.B. 3006. The program grants $40 million in rental relief to Utah small businesses that have lost revenue as a result of measures taken during the pandemic to minimize the public’s exposure to COVID-19.
Although applications for this grant are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis, the program is still well-funded. We encourage all eligible entities to apply for the Commercial Rental Assistance Program grant.
To view frequently asked questions and answers, click here.
To be eligible for the Commercial Rental Assistance Program, applicants must:
Completed applications are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. The application process will remain open until all grant funds are used.
Applying requires a two-step process. The first step is to set-up a username and password for GOED’s application system. Once you request a username, it can take up to 24-hours to receive credentials to access the system. The second step includes logging in with your credentials to complete the application and upload supporting documentation.
Also, if you applied for a bridge loan in March or April, please 1) use the same access credentials for your Commercial Rental Assistance Program application (you can skip the first step noted above), and 2) use this application link.
A request for a grant is not a guarantee of funding.
If you previously applied, you do not need to reapply.
If you cannot see the blue Apply Now button, please clear your browser cache and refresh the page.
Our system will not validate an application if the captcha was not correctly validated, which we have noticed an error with some web browsers. We advise clearing your cache and your cookies, and updating your web browser. Google Chrome is recommended in this instance. We also advise against using a mobile device.
No. The question regarding the Utah Government Records Access Management Act (GRAMA) relates to your documents submitted in the application process. If you claim business confidentiality your financial documents submitted in the application will be prohibited from release in the event of a record request relating to your application. Claiming business confidentiality will not negatively affect your application.
An applicant who meets eligibility requirements will receive between 50% and 100% of up to two months of its business lease amount, not to exceed $15,000 for a single location. A business with more than one location may receive up to $30,000, with no more than $5,000 per month for anyone location. The percentage will be based on a formula that takes into account the company’s loss of gross revenue.
Grant amounts will be 1) 100% of monthly rent with a monthly gross revenue loss of 45% or more, or 2) 50% of monthly rent with a monthly gross revenue loss between 30% and 44%.
To protect the security of your business and its financial documents, we ask you to only upload your documents to the secure application (login credentials from the Bridge Loan are the same for the Commercial Rental Assistance Program). You can access the application after our team has verified your business and sent you login credentials. If you did not submit all the required documentation your application may be considered incomplete and therefore ineligible. Please verify that all documents are current prior to submitting your application.
Your business Entity Number is the number you receive when you are registered with the state. You can verify your information by looking up your business here. Providing the correct entity ID and correct business addresses will help our team verify your business much faster.
We have a small team of people working as diligently as they can to verify your eligibility. Once eligibility has been determined, award and denial email will go out. More information on the timelines will be available after we’ve been able to assess the volume of applications.
You will receive a case number from a “no-reply” email. If you do not receive a case number via email, you have likely not submitted for eligibility to our system. Please try again. If you have login credentials from the Bridge Loan program, please use this application link and the same login credentials for your Commercial Rental Assistance Program application.
No. This program is for the master tenant, not sub-tenants.
To measure monthly gross revenue loss we will compare the business’s gross revenue for any four week period after March 1, 2020, as designated by the business, to the business’s gross revenue for a 4 week period within 12 months of the application date designated by the business.
The intent of the program is to provide rent relief to businesses that lost revenue as a result of measures taken to minimize the public’s exposure to COVID-19. The money granted should be used to pay rent.
Yes, and the maximum award amount increases to $30,000 and no more than $5,000 per month for any one location.
Yes. If you applied for a bridge loan in March or April, please use this application link and the same access credentials for your Commercial Rental Assistance Program application.
No. The program is for lessees of commercial property, not mortgage payments.
The preferred file types are .pdf but formats ending in .doc, .jpeg, .xls, and .csv are all acceptable. We cannot accept specialized formats such as “.pages”. Also, please verify that your documents are not password protected.
Hear from Kori Ann Edwards and Dane Ishihara as they discuss the COVID-19 Commercial Rental Assistance Program.