Unified Economic Opportunity Commission

The Unified Economic Opportunity Commission develops, directs, and coordinates Utah’s statewide and regional economic development strategies. The commission informs policy decisions and builds consensus.

Gov. Spencer J. Cox chairs the commission. It includes senior leaders from Utah’s legislative and executive branches, education, local government, and subject matter experts.

The commission has several subcommittees and working groups specializing in various components of Utah’s economic development strategy. They are:

  • Talent, Education, and Industry Alignment Board
  • Subcommittee on Housing Affordability
  • Subcommittee on Women in the Economy
  • Working Group on Growth & Transportation
  • Working Group on Water, Energy, & Natural Resources
  • Working Group on Technology, Innovation, & Investment
  • Working Group on Government Efficiency

The following are essential requirements and objectives of the commission:

  • Develop a 10-year statewide economic opportunity strategy
  • Develop solutions and policies for the significant challenges facing the state
  • Identify solutions for economic, infrastructure, and transportation growth
  • Identify solutions for education, training, and workforce development
  • Ensure the commission’s efforts are data-driven and evidence-based
Legislative Accomplishments
Unified Economic Opportunity Commission Members

Gov. Spencer J. Cox

Ryan Starks
Executive Director
Governor’s Office of Economic Opportunity

Speaker Mike Schultz
Utah House of Representatives

President J. Stuart Adams (or designee)
Utah State Senate

Mayor Dawn Ramsey
City of South Jordan

Commissioner Lee Perry
Box Elder County

Carlos Braceras
Executive Director
Department of Transportation

Margaret Busse
Executive Director
Department of Commerce

Craig Buttars
Department of Agriculture and Food

Casey Cameron
Executive Director
Department of Workforce Services

Sophia DiCaro
Executive Director
Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget

Sydnee Dickson
State Superintendent of Public Instruction

David Damschen
President and CEO
Utah Housing Corporation

Joel Ferry
Executive Director
Department of Natural Resources

Geoffrey Landward
Interim Commissioner of Higher Education

Non-Voting Members

Jonathan Freedman
World Trade Center Utah

Scott Cuthbertson
Economic Development Corporation of Utah

Ben Hart
Executive Director
Utah Inland Port Authority

Stephen Lisonbee
Gov. Cox’s Senior Advisor for Rural Affairs